Of Sculptures. And More Sculptures.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

If you’ve been to Rome, you’re more than likely to notice sculptures. Everywhere. From the fountains to the museums, Rome is full of some of the most breathtaking sculptures I’ve ever seen. I don’t have a single artistic bone in my body, and certainly not the hand-eye co-ordination required to be able to even mould Play-Doh, so I was just in awe of these great, ancient pieces of art just adorning the streets and piazzas and so accessible to everybody.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Although the Vatican Museum has some gorgeous paintings by the masters of art, the smaller selection of sculptures certainly deserve their place in one of the world’s most famous museums.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

If I had to choose the sculpture I liked most (and I certainly didn’t see them all), it would be down to the Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) and Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi (Fountain of the Four Rivers), and I don’t think I could pick between the two.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

If you’ve been to Rome, do you have one sculpture that just took your breath away?

PS: Please forgive the inundation of photos from Europe. I took a LOT of photos while there, and Rome and Paris are just so gorgeous that I love sharing them.

Leave a Reply

