The Pantheon And The Panthéon

IMG_9515

copyright Shivani Shah

The Pantheon in Rome is a gorgeous church in Piazza Della Rotonda. What I couldn’t get over every time I passed by or went in was that it is over 2,000 years old and still being used as a place of worship. The grand columns of the portico and the light filtering through the oculus are simply breathtaking. I was seriously in awe every time I saw the building.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Just around the corner from the Pantheon is Sant’Eustachio Il Caffè, which is home to quite possibly the best coffee I’ve ever tasted. Just thinking about it makes me want to go back!

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I also visited the Panthéon in Paris, an equally impressive structure in the heart of the city. It appears to be bigger than the Roman Pantheon, and the crypt is certainly large enough to get lost in (I almost did).

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I was most grateful to have a wide angle lens in both these buildings – my trusty nifty fifty got some great details but buildings this magnificent need to be captured entirely as well.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

The wide angle also allowed me to get my favourite photo from Paris – looking down Rue Soufflot from Place du Panthéon, with the Jardin du Luxembourg and Eiffel Tower in the distance.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Leave a Reply

