Photographing New Places

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not great at the whole “carry your camera wherever you go” thing. The few times I have taken it out with me in Mumbai I’ve got some photos that I’ve liked, but when I’m in my home city and head outdoors it’s usually to get to some place or meet someone.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

When I go on vacation, however, it’s an entirely different story. While I may be headed to a specific place, my favourite thing about vacations is that the clock doesn’t really matter and you can explore a city at leisure. There are no appointments to keep, so there’s no stress if you make it to your destination a little later than intended.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I have to give props to my family, because travelling with me certainly meant that we reached every destination later than intended. I’m constantly stopping to take photographs, and they wait very patiently for me to finish.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Every photograph in this post is one that I’ve taken while getting from point A to point B. Famous cities aren’t just about the big landmarks – don’t forget the people and neighbourhoods as well. And if you get lucky, you might even encounter something unexpected – like a photoshoot in the heart of Paris.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Leave a Reply

