Best of 2012

I realise I’m a little behind on this ‘best of’ post, but I wanted to do it nonetheless. In no particular order, here are my favourite photos taken in 2012 (and a little about each one). Some of these have appeared in other posts before, so I apologise for the repetition. I guess I just really like them.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Taken at the Rodin Gardens in Paris, the photo above is of Rodin’s signature at the foot of one of the sculptures. I didn’t place the leaves where they are in the photo – these are where they had fallen naturally. I love how the one leaf sits so perfectly near the signature.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Nighttime at the Pantheon in Rome  – this is just a beautiful building and was so beautifully lit at night. I sometimes like to take photos of just a small piece of the bigger picture; it lends a certain mystery to the photo, don’t you think?

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

My childhood friend got married in January last year, and of course I stood up there with the hired photographers and tried to capture every moment of the ceremony. I love the detail of her lehenga and the delicate mehndi.

copyright Flamingo Interiors

copyright Flamingo Interiors

I really shouldn’t take credit for this photo. I couldn’t have done anything if it wasn’t for the gorgeous natural light streaming in through the door of this store.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

And we’re back to Paris. I’ve blogged before about how much I love this photo. I’ll spare you the repetition.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

You may not be able to tell, but this is the Roman Colosseum. I have the standard Colosseum photos – the ones where you look at it and right away know what it is. I like this precisely because you can’t tell at first glance. Also, the sky in Rome is gorgeous.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I repeat – the sky in Rome is gorgeous.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

I spent two days shooting the Mahindra Blues Festival as part of the video crew. When we weren’t shooting video, I was taking photos, and I like this one because he just looks so happy while performing.

copyright Shivani Shah

copyright Shivani Shah

Apparently she always sticks butterflies on the microphone while performing. I thought it was quirky and colourful.

Here’s hoping I get enough photos in 2013 that I’m happy enough with to do another ‘best of’ post next year!

Leave a Reply

